Jin- Yong Kang

Jin- Yong Kang Jin- Yong Kang

Department of Gastroenterology, Queen Mary’s University Hospital Roehampton Lane London.


Professor Kang studied Medicine in Birmingham University, coming top in his year and graduating with an honours degree in 1973. He trained in Gastroenterology at the General Hospital, Birmingham and the Royal North Shore Hospital, Sydney. In 1981 he joined the National University of Singapore as Lecturer in Medicine and subsequently became Consultant Gastroenterologist, Head of the Division of Gastroenterology and Associate Professor of Medicine. He emigrated back to Britain in 1995, and was Consultant Gastroenterologist at the James Paget Hospital, Norfolk. In 1999 he was appointed Consultant Gastroenterologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer at St George’s Hospital and Queen Mary’s University Hospital, Roehampton. He was appointed Visiting Professor of Medicine at the National University of Singapore in 2011. In September 2014 Professor Kang retired from full-time National Health practice but continues to run regular clinics and endoscopy sessions at Queen Mary’s University Hospital. He continues to teach medical students and supervise and examine doctoral candidates for the University of London. He is also an examiner for the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh. Since 2008 Professor Kang has been carrying out his private practice within the London Gastroenterology Partnership.

Research Interest

Upper GI problems, dysphagia, abdominal pain, GORD, Irritable bowel syndrome, inflammatory bowel disease, oesophageal physiology, capsule endoscopy. Works as part of the London Gastroenterology Partnership to provide expertise in all aspects of Gastroenterology, hepatology and endoscopy and enable comprehensive cover.

Global Experts in the subject
A Cranston A Poullis Andrew Poullis
Bin Tan Cecilia Mantegazza Chang Jia-Jang
Chang Liang-Che Chen Chih-Hung Chen Li-Wei
Cheng Zhang Chien Rong-Nan Christopher Halloran
Christopher M Halloran D Thomas Dario Dilillo
Deedat S Dr. Robert B. Yates Fiona Reid
Frances Oldfield GianVincenzo Zuccotti Guang Ji
Hasan Al-Ghusein Hoda Malaty Hu Ching-Chih
J Raker J-Y Kang James Olusegun Bamidele
Jason Hou Jin-Yong Kang Jutta Koglmeier
Kalliopi Alexandropoulou Kuo Sheng-Fong Li Zhang
Li-Wei Chen Matt C winn Michael Fuchs
Michele Molinari Paula Ghaneh Pichan Prabhasankar
Qiongqiong Zhou Richard Holliman Richard Jackson
Sanem Guler Shubhada Sansgiry Srinivasan Bharath Kumar
Yi Liao Yuemin Li