Hans-Jorg Schanz

Hans-Jorg Schanz
Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry
Dr. Hans-Jorg Schanz has received his Diploma (1995) and Ph.D. (1997) from the Universitat Bayreuth in Germany. His Ph.D. research project under the supervision of Prof. Bernd Wrackmeyer was focused on the synthesis and characterization of novel electron-deficient cages made from boron and carbon, so-called carboranes, based on a unique approach using the simultaneous hydroboration/condensation of unsaturated organoboranes. In 1998, he joined the research group of Prof. Steve Nolan at the University of New Orleans as postdoctoral researcher where he investigated the synthesis and catalytic activity of ruthenium-based olefin metathesis catalysts. Here he developed the first general synthetic protocol for the “2nd generation Grubbs-type” catalysts. In 1999, he joined the research group of Prof. Russell Grimes at the University of Virginia on a Feodor-Lynen fellowship sponsored by the Alexander-von-Humboldt Foundation as a postdoctoral associate, where he developed and investigated novel controlled cage-rearrangement reactions of metallacarboranes. The new cages served as model compounds for molecular wires. In his third postdoctoral stint in 2001, Dr. Schanz joined the research group of Prof. Declan Gilheany again at the University College Dublin in Ireland as a Marie-Curie fellow sponsored by the European Union. Here he investigated the stereoselective epoxidation of alkenes with manganese and chromium complexes. He developed a series of new catalysts as well as a combinatorial (high-throughput) approach to the catalyst evaluation. In 2003, he became an Assistant Professor at the University of Southern Mississippi where he developed a research program in “catalysis in alternative media” and “stimuli-responsive catalysis”. His developments yielded a commercial patent application partnered by BASF SE, the world’s largest chemical company, on the first effective emulsion ROMP process for DCPD. Furthermore, he developed the first reversible “on/off” switch for an olefin metathesis reaction and a highly active catalyst class for ring opening metathesis polymerization (ROMP) in aqueous media. In 2011, he joined the Chemistry Department at Georgia Southern University with a research focus on homogeneous catalysis and polymeric materials.
Research Interest
The research in Dr. Schanz’ group ranges from organic and organometallic synthesis to catalysis and material science. At the heart of most research efforts is the development of new homogenous catalysts which can be used, or improve existing processes, in the production of new materials or pharmaceuticals. The design of more capable and applicable catalysts is a highly important task to address the pressing demands of today’s world. Catalysis is at the beginning of many modern materials such as polymers, composites, nanomaterials, etc. which are widely used in light-weight construction, high-performance, environmental and energy applications, and even begin to be growingly used in the biomedical field. Catalysis is also an essential technology for the production of specialty chemicals, most notably fine chemicals and modern pharmaceuticals.
Global Experts in the subject
A John Maria Xavier Abdi Y Guliye Abdulaziz A. Zorgani
Abdulhamid M. Alkout Abhijeet S Dhulap Adriana Fernandes da Silva
Agnaldo S Carneiro Anita A Mandhare Antonio J Costa-Filho
Arasambattu K Mohanakrishnan Ashutosh Kumar Atay B
Ayya Raju M Balakrishnan T Basavarajappa HT
Basilea Gunalan Bassey S Antia Behera S M
Bele D Belokoneva EL Bessaid A.
Bharathi Koganti Bhaskar Biswas Bhawani Singh
Bheemasen R Bibek Poudel Bibhas Kar
Borges RS Brandon Quillian Bubbly SG
Carlos A L Barros Carlos J Gomez-Garcia Carvalho ES
Chen-Yuan Hsiao Chetan Shripanavar Ching-Zong Wu
Clifford W Padgett Cristina Vallis-Garcia Csizmadia IG
Deepak Chopra Dhananjay Dey Digambar D. Gaikwad
Dilip Paruchuru Dimitrova OV Dipak T. Tayade
Dipan Adhikari Divya GS Dnyanesh Amle
Dogondaji Dossou-Aminon I. Dr Deepa
Dr Imran Ahmed Siddiqui Dr NS Satish Kumar Dr Prabhavati Modi
Dr Udaya Kumar Rao Dr. D. Raja Rajeswar Dr. Dhurjeti Sarvamangala
Dr. E.Venkata Rao Dr. Rajesh J. Oswal Dr. S.S.Suvarnakhandi
Dr. Sana Dlawar Jalal Dr. Someswar Rao Dr. T.C.M. Naidu
Dr. TR. Mahesh Singh Dr. Y. AShoka Rani Dr.C.P.Srivastav
Dr.D.RajaRajeswari Dr.G.Amar Raghu Narayan Dr.Grrishma B
Dr.J.N.Naidu Yu-Jia Chang